What I’ve learned from love: How to build a writing life—and a life, period.

In 2009, I lost my grandfather to pancreatic cancer. It was a short battle. He was diagnosed a few weeks before my wedding; he died two months later.

In the way he lived his life, he taught me how to love, how to be a good person, how to lead a good life. He wasn’t wealthy or famous. He’d worked in a coal mine, fought and was wounded in WWII, and worked in maintenance at my future alma mater.

But the day of his memorial service, the funeral home was packed with people. Some hadn’t seen him in thirty years, but they remembered when he’d helped them rebuild their house after the flood; they remembered the kind of man he was. He wasn’t perfect, but he was generous, and he had a strength of spirit, a contagious warmth and happiness, and a sense of pride that came from everyday, simple things. No one was ever prouder of their family than he was; no one ever loved deeper than he did.

In life, it’s easy to get caught up in the game. We want to be published writers, achieve some measure of financial success, or save up for a rainy day or our golden years. And those are all important things. But they can’t be end goals.

A year ago, I first started seriously researching my path as a writer. I found out about the indie writer scene via writers like Kait Nolan. I joined Virginia Romance Writers, where I met writers like Shara Lanel and Nara Malone, who taught me about small epubs and the world of digital publishing. I learned about POD, which allows smaller publishers to offer print versions of books without having to do large press runs. I bought a Kindle and got hooked on the digital book scene. I learned more about how the publishing industry works and what I should expect.

What I’ve learned from my family is that work is important, but it’s only one part of our lives. We have to choose the writing path that works for us as individuals, one that allows us to meet our personal and professional goals. I’ve put in some long, hard hours of introspection. I’m still finding my path, and I know that my journey will be full of changes and surprises I didn’t anticipate.

Whether my book sells a hundred copies or a million, my grandfather would’ve been equally proud. I know my husband will rejoice for me the day I sell my first book, but my worth in his eyes and in that of my friends’ and family’s is not based on my rank in sales.

Author Michelle Davidson Argyle wrote in a blog post entitled “Publishing is Like a Hot Love Affair”:

In the end it all depends on what you want as an author. Don’t kid yourself thinking there’s only one way to publish or that any path is easier than another. And don’t jump into that hot love affair with your eyes closed. It’s a wild ride and one that could end really ugly if you don’t research, gain a great amount of patience, and work hard every single day. Luck only happens to those who put themselves in its path.

Art matters. Writing matters. Craft matters. But we write about life. That’s why having options as writers is so important. Whether you go Big Six, small press, indie, or a combination thereof, your path will be the one that you feel is right for you.

It’s not about doing what’s the easiest or hardest, what’s most ambitious or most comfortable. Your writing goals have to align with your personal goals. If the rebel in you screams indie and you believe you can pull it off, go for it. If you say it’s Big Six or bust, pursue it. We have to be true to ourselves and our values. We have to know what’s truly important to us or else risk getting caught up in the rat race and losing ourselves.

Accessed at stock xchng.Springsteen was born to run; I was born to write. But I live for late-night laugh fests with my best friends, for Saturday morning family breakfasts, for kisses and stargazing, and for the tiny moments that bring me happiness or deeper awareness. My stories and publishing journey will always incorporate those things.

And what about you? What’s your path? How does it align with your personal goals? What guides your footsteps on your writing journey? And how have the ones you love inspired you?

6 thoughts on “What I’ve learned from love: How to build a writing life—and a life, period.

  1. Beautiful post, Janelle. Your grandfather would be mighty proud!

    I couldn’t agree with you more… My path has so far taught me that pursuing what I love doing (writing) is essential for my health and happiness. But *only* writing, omitting time for loved ones, caring for others and myself, detracts from all of that — my writing capabilities included.

    In order to write about life, we have to live it. So happy I found your blog!

    • Thanks, August. Like you, having time to write is an important part of my happiness. But balance is also necessary, and writing is only one part of the equation. You said, “In order to write about life, we have to live it.” Couldn’t have said it better myself.

  2. I recently decided to write. I used to think I’d wait till I was old and retired. What guide’s my path? God. Right now he is the only thing lighting my path. Nice write up =]

    • Thanks. I’m glad you’ve decided to take up writing now instead of later. 🙂

      Our faith can be a powerful inspiration. And many times, belief in God can be the steady flame that illuminates the dark.

  3. It feels really nice reading your post Janelle. The thing that inspires me to write is the relationships we make in our lives. Each of them is so different, yet so similar in many ways. We all have something unique to bring into this world and to be able to create something that will not just revolutionize the way people think but will also live longer than our own physical existence – that is worthwhile.

    • Thanks! That’s what makes the act of writing so amazing–we are the only ones who can create our stories. When we write, we are doing something nobody else can do–telling a story in our own words. And you’re right, with any luck, our stories will outlive us.

Leave a Reply

