Mine: Own Your Body, Stand up for Your Sisters.

My LJ pal silk_noir roused my inner feminist with a recent post challenging supporters of women’s rights to “claim” their bodies. She urged us “to raise awareness of the sliding status of women’s reproductive health, the increasing lack of agency our representatives are willing to allow us, just the damn reminder that our bodies belong to ourselves–and we are the ones who must suffer the consequences of the future if we don’t act.”

I couldn’t help but accept the challenge:

mine.

Yes, that's my belly. And yes, that is red lipstick--Revlon's "Rum Raisin," if you're wondering.

That’s right. It’s my life, and it’s my body.

As a writer, I try not to use my blog as a political forum. My readers will come from many different backgrounds, and I will always respect that. But my body is mine (as you can see), and I’d like people to leave it alone. I don’t want to tell others what to do with their lives. I’d like the same respect. It is possible to hold true to your own beliefs while respecting those of others.

Women deserve the right to make decisions about their bodies. We deserve the right to have access to birth control. We deserve choices. We shouldn’t have to write “mine” across our bellies to remind the world that, as my friend Em once put it, “women are people, too.” I’m saying it for anyone who needs reminding.

So what about you? Are you in? Take the challenge; claim your body.

Own it, sisters. Take. A. Stand.

3 thoughts on “Mine: Own Your Body, Stand up for Your Sisters.

  1. my body is not mine by that time – if u become pregnant u get to know there is sone else in u – and u hold him/her – and don’t let yourself overshouted by the so called “dependent” crowd. In my situ they were the majority.

Leave a Reply

