Singing to the Muses: Pearl and the Beard

I recently saw a band that inspired me as a writer, not just because their songs roused my inner storyteller, but because they take risks as artists: Pearl and the Beard. What they’re doing is so unique, and I’ve always admired artists who follow their medium, dedicate themselves to their craft, and make it shine. Their voices are powerful, their instrumental accompaniment unique and strong. Their work reminds me that there are indefinite combinations of words, notes, or brushstrokes—infinite possibilities for how we make art.

Art feeds our creativity; it awakens the deep self and the stories and songs that sleep inside of us. I love going to a concert because I get caught up in the energy of the music. Whether it’s the symphony or a string quartet, an aria or an a cappella group, an acoustic performance or an electric one, music, like a good story, can transport us.

So here’s a taste of Pearl and the Beard’s music. I hope it inspires you as it has me. And, as Moss of “IT Crowd” once said, “You best put seat belts on your ears…because they’re about to go for the ride of their lives.”

10 thoughts on “Singing to the Muses: Pearl and the Beard

  1. This is the first time I’ve heard this group. They have an incredible range. Another thing to their credit is that they sound good live. A lot of major recording artists sound great thanks to the help they get in the studio but awful when you hear them live.

  2. I hadn’t heard of them either, but they sure are good! Really cool music. I enjoyed this a lot. I’m surprised this video hasn’t had more views than it has.

    • Debra, I hope you get a chance to see them sometime. They’re all very inspiring performers who know how to interact with a crowd and get people engaged in the moment! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

